Freight security for transport and logistics

As a company in the freight and logistics industry, do you want to ensure the security of your goods and commodities? For manufacturers of high-value, theft-prone products, freight security is one of the biggest challenges within the supply chain. The TAPA certification is designed to increase security to prevent or minimize transportation related theft.

Improved protection of high-value, theft-prone goods

Reduction of security threats and liability risks

Increased awareness of possible dangers

Competitive advantages from transparency and trust

Beschreibung Standard/Regelwerk

TAPA certification - regulation info

The Transported Asset Protection Association (TAPA) has developed three internationally valid security standards specifically for the transportation and logistics industries: TAPA FSR (Facility Security Requirements), TAPA TSR (Trucking Security Requirements) and TAPA PSR (Parking Security Requirements).

All three standards stand for more transparency and security in the industry and are certifiable. TAPA's focus is on theft prevention using of real-time information and the latest prevention measures.

TAPA is a coalition of more than 600 of the world's leading manufacturers, logistics service providers, freight carriers, law enforcement, and other stakeholders. The common goal of all: to reduce cargo loss and theft within the global supply chain.

TAPA members include international companies and their logistical partners in the technology and high tech, pharmaceutical, automotive, apparel, footwear, cosmetics, hygiene, food, beverage, furniture, appliance, and metal industries.

Show more
Show less

TAPA FSR - Facility Security Requirements

TAPA FSR includes minimum requirements related to safe, secure storage and transportation-related temporary storage of assets. With the TAPA FSR security standard, you identify and assess potential risks within the entire warehousing process.

The risk assessment creates transparency and allows for early implementation of appropriate and effective control measures. The Facility Security Requirements are applicable:

  • Subject to the need, risk, and requirements of the buyer or logistics service provider at all locations that form part of the global supply chain
  • On premises owned or operated by the logistics service provider
  • On premises owned by the buyer or in which the buyer does business

The certification is carried out on three security levels: A, B, and C. The corresponding audits according to the international security requirements for business premises can take place at all locations in the international supply chain.

Show more
Show less
Wer darf zertifizieren

TAPA TSR - Trucking Security Requirements

TAPA TSR specifies requirements for the secure transportation of high-value goods within the supply chain, while enabling you identify and assess potential risks.

This holistic and systematic risk assessment creates transparency and allows the early implementation of appropriate security measures. The standard defines minimum requirements for the following areas:

  • The equipment of tractor units and trailers
  • The processes and their control within the company
  • A special communications infrastructure

In addition to the three security levels (Level 1-3), TAPA TSR distinguishes between the three categories Large, Medium, and Small according to the number of trucks in a transport company.

  • Category Large = over 100 trucks
  • Category Medium = 31 to 100 trucks
  • Category Small = 3 to 30 trucks
Show more
Show less

TAPA PSR - Parking Security Requirements

TAPA PSR specifies minimum requirements for parking lots and cargo yards, as they often pose a major hazard when unsecured. The TAPA PSR security standard is intended to counteract the increasing cargo thefts in unsecured parking lots.

TAPA PSR aims to increase the number of secure parking lots in order to protect goods, vehicles, and people. Using the Secure Parking Online Tool, members can identify secure and certified locations to determine transportation routes along the nearest PSR parking lots.

Show more
Show less

Why does the TAPA certification make sense for your organization?

The various TAPA standards offer several benefits and can be very useful  when integrated into logistics and transportation industries. With a TAPA certification, businesses improve the protection of high-value goods at risk of theft throughout the supply chain. Liability risks and security threats are systematically reduced.

You gain competitive advantages and strengthen your company's image through transparency and the building of trust. In addition, you can benefit from synergy effects with the simultaneous application of other standards, for example: ISO 9001 or EU GDP. Intensive training enables you and your employees to recognize possible dangers at an early stage and to act accordingly.

Show more
Show less

Who is authorized to carry out a TAPA certification?

TAPA certification is carried out exclusively by accredited certification companies such as DQS. In addition, they must be approved by the Transported Asset Protection Association for certification according to the three security standards TAPA FSR, TAPA TSR, and TAPA PSR.

DQS holds the required accreditation according to ISO/IEC 17021 by the German Accreditation Body DAkkS. This enables the standard-compliant, international comparability and recognition of certificates. The accreditation by TAPA has been in place since 2016.

As an accredited certification body, we have sound, industry-specific expertise. We know the current challenges and offer sustainable solutions for all areas within the supply chain.

Show more
Show less

What are the steps for a TAPA certification?

In the first step, you discuss your company, your current challenges and the goals of a TAPA certification with us. Based on these discussions, you will receive an individual quote tailored to the needs of your company.

Project planning can be useful for larger projects to plan schedules and individual audit programs for sites or divisions. In addition, a gap assessment offers the opportunity to identify strengths and potential for improvement.

In the TAPA audit, all safety-relevant areas are evaluated according to a checklist specially developed by TAPA. If all applicable requirements according to the TAPA rules have been met, DQS issues a certificate valid for three years.

The certificate documents the implementation of all TAPA requirements and stands for certified cargo security. All certificates are registered with TAPA with a tracking number to ensure traceability and transparency.

Once you have been awarded a certificate, you are required to perform a self-assessment annually until recertification in the third year. The results of the self-assessments can be requested from TAPA.


How much does TAPA certification cost?

The cost of TAPA certification depends on several factors. The size and complexity of your company plays an important role and influences the price. For these reasons, the cost of TAPA certification cannot be given as a lump sum. We are happy to make you an individual quote for your company.


What you can expect from DQS

  • Over 35 years of experience in the certification of management systems and processes
  • Auditors with industry experience and approved by TAPA
  • Worldwide certifications and assessments from a single source
  • Certificates with international acceptance
  • Value-added insights into your company through TAPA audits
  • Personal, seamless support from our specialists in the United States with international support
  • Individual offers with flexible contract periods with no hidden costs
Show more
Show less

Request for quote

Your local contact person

We would be happy to provide you with a customized quote for TAPA certification.