You might be asking, “how does it help an ISO 9001 certified organization adopt ISO 20000-1? Let’s look at the structure of ISO 9001:2008. 

Management system requirements in ISO 9001 are defined in 5 sections:

Section 4 – Quality management system

Section 5 – Management responsibility

Section 6 – Resource management

Section 7 – Product realization

Section 8 – Measurement, analysis and improvement

Only section 7 provides requirements for service design and delivery. The remaining sections provide requirements for the management system framework. Now let’s look at the structure of ISO 20000-1:2011. Section 4 (Service management system general requirements) is essentially a concise version of sections 4, 5, 6 and 8 of ISO 9001:2008. So, an ISO 9001 certified organization should have a robust foundation established for their service management system.

Now, an organization could just consider revisiting the implementation of section 7 (ISO 9001) requirements with the help of ISO 20000-1. This is essentially an elaboration of “Product realization” using IT services specific processes. So, just replace section 7 of ISO 9001 with sections 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9 of ISO 20000-1 and your Quality Management System (QMS) will become a Service Management System (SMS). It makes good business sense to align these two standards.

Sara Gulo

Sara Gulo is the Marketing Specialist for DQS Inc. in the USA. She's been with DQS for 10 years in various roles, including Verification and Customer Service Professional.