Certification for management systems in the food and feed industry

With an FSSC 22000 certification, companies in the food and feed industry have the opportunity to have their food safety management system audited according to a standard that is recognized worldwide by the Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI) allowing for Australian and New Zealand producers easier access to international markets. The certificate confirms the high quality and safety of food and animal feed by providing a practical structure for food safety management, total supply chain management and food safety hazard management.

The FSSC 22000 standard is based on ISO 22000, the international standard for food safety management systems.Key aspects of FSSC 22000 include:

  • Design and implementation of safe products
  • Responsible management
  • Fight against food fraud with the help of a management system
  • Regular risk analyses (vulnerability assessment)
Show more
Show less

Management system approach based on ISO 22000

Continuous optimization of high standards

Reduces risks in manufacturing processes

Increased product safety and transparency


FSSC 22000: Product safety and quality in the food and feed industry

The FSSC 22000 standard was established by the FSSC 22000 Foundation in the Netherlands. They developed the certification together with well-known food manufacturers and traders, with the aim of increasing product safety and quality in the food and feed industry.

The current version of the FSSC 22000 Scheme is version 5.1, which was updated as a result of the update if the ISO 22000 to the current version in 2018. More information about the current version can be found on the FSSC Version 5.1 website.

The Foundation FSSC published version 6 of the FSSC 22000 scheme in April 2023.

As a result of this, audits against the FSSC 22000 v5.1 will continue to be delivered up to 31 March 2024, with upgrade audits against FSSC 22000 v6 conducted from 1 April 2024 until 31 March 2025.

The main reasons for the release of FSSC 22000 v6 include:

  • Incorporating the requirements of ISO 22003-1:2022,
  • Strengthening the requirements to support organizations in their contributions to meeting the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), and
  • Continuous improvement.

More details about the FSSC v6 scheme documents and transition requirements visit the FSSC Version 6.0 website.

Show more
Show less

Which companies is an FSSC 22000 certification suitable for?

The standard takes into account quality and safety for the entire food and feed chain, from the production of raw materials to the sale of the finished product at retail. Accordingly, all companies that are part of the value chain can be certified.

In practice, companies from the following sectors are certified according to FSSC 22000:

  • Agricultural businesses
  • Producers of food or feed
  • Manufacturers of packaging for food and feed products
  • Companies that package food and feed products
  • Transport and logistics service providers
  • Caterers
  • Retailers
Show more
Show less

Can be combined with other audits and certifications

Companies that have already been certified to ISO 22000 can obtain FSSC 22000 certification with significantly less effort. The prerequisite is that the necessary technical and sector-specific requirements are met.

FSSC 22000 certification has similar content to IFS Food or BRCGS Food certification. Companies that have already been audited according to these standards can usually shorten the audit for the FSSC 22000 standard. At DQS you receive all audits for your food safety and quality certification from one source.

Show more
Show less

Certification process

In the first step, you will discuss your company, your management system and the goals of certification with us. On this basis, you will promptly receive a detailed and transparent quote, tailored to your individual needs.

Especially for larger certification projects, a planning meeting is a valuable opportunity to get to know your auditor as well as to develop an individual audit program for all involved areas and sites.
A pre-audit also offers the opportunity to identify potential for improvement as well as strengths of your management system in advance. Both services are optional.

The certification audit starts with a system analysis (audit stage 1) and the evaluation of your documentation, objectives, results of your management review and internal audits. In doing so, we determine whether your management system is sufficiently developed and ready for certification.
In the next step (system audit stage 2), your DQS auditor assesses the effectiveness of all management processes on site. In a final meeting, they will provide you with a detailed presentation of the results and possible improvement potential for your company. If necessary, action plans will be agreed upon.

After the certification audit, the results are evaluated by the independent certification board of DQS. You will receive an audit report documenting the audit results. If all FSSC 22000 requirements are met, you will receive an internationally recognized certificate.

The certificate is valid for a maximum of three years. Recertification is carried out in good time before expiry to ensure continued compliance with the applicable standard requirements. Upon compliance, a new certificate is issued.


How much does an FSSC 22000 certification cost?

The cost of an FSSC 22000 certification depends primarily on the size of the company. We will be happy to make you an individual offer for your company without obligation.


Why should companies get certified by DQS according to FSSC 22000?

  • All food safety and quality audits from one source
  • Auditors with extensive industry knowledge and experience
  • A high degree of customer and solution orientation for organizations in the food and feed industry
  • Personal contact persons at over 80 locations worldwide

Request a quote

Your local contact

We will be happy to provide you with a customized quote for FSSC 22000 certification.